Hey Whit! Why isn't all wine vegan-friendly?
Spilling the tea ☕️
🙋🏾♀️ Why isn’t all wine vegan-friendly?
It might seem counterintuitive, but wine isn’t just fermented grape juice. There’s a lot that goes into wine production. But let’s keep this short 😆
Animal by-products are often used in the winemaking process – from fertilizing the vineyard to clarifying a wine.
👉🏾 Before wine is bottled, it's filtered through substances called “fining agents.”
👉🏾 This process removes organic particles like protein, yeast, cloudiness, + any “off-flavors”
👉🏾Common animal-derived fining agents include:
🥚 Egg whites
🥛 Milk protein
🦀 Chitosan (fiber from crustacean shells)
🐟 Isinglass (gelatin from fish bladder membranes)
👉🏾There are animal-friendly + natural methods to clarify wine such as:
🌎 Carbon, bentonite clay, limestone + plant casein
👩🏾💻 Also, use barnivore.com to see if your favorite booze is vegan!